Ye Olde Fixer Guide

Tarradax
Wordbearer

Ye Olde Fixer Guide

Post by Tarradax » Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:39 pm

Introduction
First thing's first: Welcome to the least defined profession on Rubi-Ka. Every other profession has a more-or-less distinctive role to play - All but the fixer. So, depending on your preference and style, you can expect to: Tank, Backup Heal, Crowd control, Buffwhore, and of course just add damage. I'll get to the details further down, but I'm going to assume that whoever reads this has at least basic knowledge of AO and its game mechanics (That includes ClickSaver).

I'll just add that I've been playing this lil' game here for slightly over 2 years, and in the course of that time I've rolled (And rerolled) at least 10 fixers. A fixer was the first toon I've ever made, and each time I've rerolled it I've learned something new. My main is Tarradax, a 207 Fixer on Rimor, currently undergoing a massive overhaul and gear-gathering session before I make the push to 210 and start the endgame raids.

This guide is not designed to hold your hand throughout your fixer's life. If anything, consider it a checklist or a reference guide as to what you should expect to be able to do - The standards I've set are not hard to meet, they do not require deep pockets, they do not require hordes of buffers or tradeskillers. They do require you to be able to think, though, so to anyone who's reading this hoping to learn all there is to learn, I'm sorry, you're reading the wrong guide. However, if you're reading this guide to get a general idea and advice, you're at the right place.