Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which..

Got something related to in-game that doesn't really fit elsewhere? This is the place.
Post Reply
dbouya
Fresh
Fresh
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:38 am

Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which..

Post by dbouya » Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:10 pm

Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which do you use and why? Is it really worth all those extra gigabytes to get the new one?

User avatar
Rain
ModSquad
ModSquad
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 2:59 am
Location: Omni-Trade

Re: Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which..

Post by Rain » Fri Oct 28, 2016 3:44 pm

Old one to preserve my sanity while zoning.
The mark of a truly superior player is the use of his superior judgement to avoid situations requiring the use of his superior skill.
Jensenberg | Bureaucrat
Odeleder | Trader
Intellant | Meta-physicist
Smierc | Martial Artist
Nicolaj | Agent
Snaut | Engineer
WeylanYutani | Enforcer

R.I.P Atlantean - THE Raidbot

User avatar
Legendfluff
Flagged
Flagged
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:04 am

Re: Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which..

Post by Legendfluff » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:00 pm

The old one; can barely run it as is... I hear the new one is quite buggy too.
Mains: Legendfluff / Kruznik02 / Distractyou ... 1 paid account + 5 Froob accounts. I love to twink froobs more than paid, they're much more enjoyable.

Current project: QL 67-75 Imps + CoH Collar on L5 NT (froob ofc) [On hold]
Completed:
2 Level 15 froobs: NM Agent & NM MP. Both have ql 86-104 implants.

Bigtoad702
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:25 pm

Re: Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which..

Post by Bigtoad702 » Mon Oct 31, 2016 8:13 am

Over the past year or so, I've run the new client. I also changed settings to follow Caloss' recommendations (it's on youtube) for Nvidia. My machine runs a fresh install of Win10, Nvidia 750, and a new speedy SSD.

My old accounts from 2009ish were mostly Omni and I found myself crashing exiting most Omni whompah's, 50/50 upon entering Rome Red (know it will crash if the Unicorn guys aren't rendering), and other Omni grid points.

My new characters are all Clan and the whompah crashes have ceased, however I now crash when zoning in odd areas - especially when returning to the quest giver in The Reck (75% of the time), re-entering Broken Shores hub returning from Alien mission to disable mines (>75%), doorways inside regular missions (if I can see through one door and an open door across the hall renders black, it's crash time), and occasionally in Smuggler's Den with no repeatable cause. Oh and on my paid account I get a few crashes in SL inside of instances but it's fairly rare... but fortunately relogging in has not been an issue - not sure if that's a function of the new client or not. YMMV

User avatar
hybridyak
Seasoned
Seasoned
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:41 pm
Location: Atlantean
Contact:

Re: Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which..

Post by hybridyak » Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:57 pm

Old client for two reasons... I can triple log without issue, and because I could not be naffed trying to translate all the character data and bag names over because lazy :D
Serial "Dublivion" Slacker: Forever gimp
Myhealsare "Fullysikmate" Youdig: One of these days he will hit things gud
"Dangerwoman" 10,000 alien kills and counting
ToTW "Munkeemagik" Trasher: Forever twinking
"Subharmonic" There's no school like the old school

Image
[- screenshots -]

User avatar
keune
Flagged
Flagged
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:10 pm

Re: Years later, new engine client or old engine client? which..

Post by keune » Wed Nov 02, 2016 2:00 am

Old client. For dual logging and not crashing.

Post Reply