vista or xp

Speak your mind. But keep it clean. NON-Anarchy Online related posts only please.
flyingengi
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1615
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 2:55 am
Location: RGA trying to act like he is Omni

Post by flyingengi » Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:08 pm

Get Linux and don't worry about bugs? :P
  • Rookie "Flyingmp" - RK1 - LVL220
  • Flyingengi - RK1 - LVL199
  • Freshman "Flyingblades" - RK1 - LVL150
  • Flyingadvy- RK1 - LVL128
  • Apprentice Imfat "Deathinabag" Yourdead - RK1 - LVL49
Facebook

C++ This!
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:22 pm

Post by C++ This! » Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:14 pm

...and have to spend all your time chasing down emulators to run stuff :P


Anyway as for which version ya go with pro, its pretty much the same as home but a bit more win2000-ish in terms of features and style. And better support since its the business version.

User avatar
wolfgang951
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: Slippery Rock, PA

Post by wolfgang951 » Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:45 pm

Thanks for all the replies guys ,the info has been great. Yeah I have heard that SP3 is coming out for xp but of nothing after that. As for linux, I am not that familiar with it and looking for emulators and other things would take up a lot of time. So looks like the frontrunner now is XP pro which sounds good to me but please feel free to keep discussing as it seems there are some nice little tidbits that some (like myself :lol: ) dont know but would like too!! Thanks again!!!
wolfgang951: lvl 220
wolfstech lvl 153
wolfkeep: lvl 148
wolfadvent lvl 133
wolfsdoc: lvl 100
wolffix: lvl 92
wolfgagent: lvl 64
wolftrade: lvl 53
Proud member of Dawn Of War!!!

Tarradax
Wordbearer
Posts: 4080
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 4:08 am
Location: Eye of Terror

Post by Tarradax » Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:10 am

While on the subject of Service Packs.... MS released a RC version of the first Vista Service Pack. A link for the curious: Clicky!
Ye' Olde Fixer Guide, By Me.

/Tarradax, Proud Owner of Questionable Morals.
/Baene, It's Like A Beanbag Chair. With a Gun. And a Temper.
/Bonekrakka, Get Your Choppas Ready, Boyz! Time For A WAAAAAAGH!
/Happythought, Hand-Made Silk Kites! Beautiful Strings!
/Littleshank, Choose Difficulty: []Hard []Medium []Easy []Very Easy [X]Atrox Melee Adventurer.


Completely Unrelated To Anything Link

Ytinirt
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:56 am

Post by Ytinirt » Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:16 am

wolfgang951 wrote:cool thanks for the info. I would like to see more of your setup tarradax. So far this is what i have planned going in.

600 Watt -- XION SuperNova XON-600R14 Power Supply SLI Ready
Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600 (4x 2.4GHz/8MB L2 Cache/1066FSB) [OR] Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6750 (2x 2.66GHz/4MB L2 Cache/1333FSB) --price dependent
Asus P5N-E SLI nForce® 650i SLI Chipset
2048MB [1024MB X2] DDR2-800 PC6400 Memory Module
NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT 512mb w/ DVI + TV out video
320 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 16M Cache]
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit [OR] Windows XP version??--- performance and price dependent
hehe, very close to my machine...
from my experience Vista takes alot of ram and makes the system go v slow.
Image

Ytinirt
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:56 am

Post by Ytinirt » Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:20 am

As for emulators i runned AO in wine on the latest fedora (linux) dist. It was running in 0.5 fps, and after trolling on forums i realized that many linuxusers had the problem after a late AO patch (17.?). This was before i had my graphcard, so may be different, i could try. Im running XP and fedora, preferable fedora for everything else than AO tho ;)
Image

User avatar
wolfgang951
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: Slippery Rock, PA

Post by wolfgang951 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:12 pm

When it comes to fedora (linux) i am a total noob. Not sure what the leaning curve would be when getting emulators and so forth, that is why i am going to stick with windows os or new comp and probably switch over to linux on this comp to get used to it. if it turns out that i like it and can run my other software effectively with it then I could make it my main OS. Thanks again for all the tips and tidbits guys!!
wolfgang951: lvl 220
wolfstech lvl 153
wolfkeep: lvl 148
wolfadvent lvl 133
wolfsdoc: lvl 100
wolffix: lvl 92
wolfgagent: lvl 64
wolftrade: lvl 53
Proud member of Dawn Of War!!!

Ytinirt
Skilled
Skilled
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:56 am

Post by Ytinirt » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:25 pm

Allright im newb at linux dists aswell, but its easy to install wine.

1.) Open the terminal

2.)type

Code: Select all

su -
and then

Code: Select all

yum install wine
wollah, got wine :)
Image

User avatar
wolfgang951
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: Slippery Rock, PA

Post by wolfgang951 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:45 pm

Ytinirt wrote:Allright im newb at linux dists aswell, but its easy to install wine.

1.) Open the terminal

2.)type

Code: Select all

su -
and then

Code: Select all

yum install wine
wollah, got wine :)
Alright, you completely lost me there lol. When I said I was a noob at it I meant that I have absolutely no experience with it at all. Thanks though for the idea though I have no clue what it means :D
wolfgang951: lvl 220
wolfstech lvl 153
wolfkeep: lvl 148
wolfadvent lvl 133
wolfsdoc: lvl 100
wolffix: lvl 92
wolfgagent: lvl 64
wolftrade: lvl 53
Proud member of Dawn Of War!!!

Sferykal
ModSquad
ModSquad
Posts: 1511
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:18 am
Location: lost in the real world

Post by Sferykal » Wed Dec 19, 2007 12:11 am

wolfgang951 wrote:Alright, you completely lost me there lol. When I said I was a noob at it I meant that I have absolutely no experience with it at all. Thanks though for the idea though I have no clue what it means :D
Ytinirt wrote:1.) Open the terminal
Terminal is in most cases a text based interface to a system. It's also refered to as "console", you've probably stumbled over that even in Windows already ("command prompt/line"). Anyway, the meaning of terminal can differ depending on the context, see [1] and [2].
2.)type

Code: Select all

su -
"man su" ("man man", so you know what this is all about :D).
and then

Code: Select all

yum install wine
wollah, got wine :)
Yum can be compared to Windows Update, just that you execute it from the command line. It also implies a rpm based Linux system, which is the format of the install/update packages, in a way similar to the .msi files, for example.

And then there is wine (in this case it's nothing to drink 8)).


Anyway, the XP<->Vista issue is a bit tricky. From what I see the only way Vista is leaking into the world is via new computers. Without additional configuration such a system just doesn't feel right, there is way too much junk flying around, hogging up the system (not like that it would be different with XP, but on nowadays hardware the difference is less visible). After the configuration Vista should be doing ok. But yes, there are some other issues pestering Vista, where you just have to wonder what drugs the guys at Microsoft were taking to pull stunts like this.

In terms of games it's rather clear cut: Going with official software you won't be able to run DX10 only games in XP. What I've seen so far are hybrid games, showing some additional effects when run with DX10, but doing well fine with DX9. If you are not going with all the bleeding edge games, XP is a good choice.
Image

donko
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:00 pm
Location: Bob

Post by donko » Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:19 pm

C++ This! wrote:Reasons Vista sucks compared to XP:
-Way more system resource hogging
-DRM stuff can inhibit even legit stuff, and could lead to massive exploits in the future
-Doesnt really offer anything that XP doesnt
Direct X 10 is only available to Vista, though.
I find most of my games (excluding AO) to run a lot smoother on vista, such as TF2.

WorldTrader
Elite
Elite
Posts: 2460
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:46 am
Location: Borealis (RK1)

Post by WorldTrader » Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:12 pm

Vista doesn't need "additional configuration" because it is essentially set up differently and automatically in an attempt to give the user what he/she needs the most.

I personally like it.
WorldTrader (Level 200 Trader/RK1 Neutral)
"You are GREAT TRADER!" - Blastcore
"One of the Best Traders I've ever met" - Zenur
"Damn You are Handy" - Eskondas
"UR AMAZING" - Brutemage
"I swear you are the best trader!" - Wranglers
"you are UNIQUE somehow :)" - Kalvik4
"truly EXCEPTIONAL" - Mezzbest
"awesome service!" - Skytter
"You are an awesome guy" - Toomz
"How do you have so much power?" - Defiler
"the best trader in the game" - Octavio
"u are the most awsome trader ingame ^_^" - Alzyah
"such craftmanship is hard to come by" - Olcode
"hellz yeah froob power!" - Cyrichor

Post Reply